Love’em or Hate’em, Ten Summer Blockbusters of 2017

Ten Summer Blockbusters 2017

The blockbuster films may have started as early as March this year with Logan, Kong: Skull Island, and Beauty and the Beast, but there are still plenty of films upcoming for the summer season.  You can expect films with superheroes, more apes, pirates, and toy robots which expect to draw in big numbers no matter how good or bad they are.  So love ’em or hate ’em here are our thoughts on ten blockbuster films coming out this summer.

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Release Date: May 5, 2017

Synopsis:  The team struggles to keep its newfound family together as it tries to unravel the mystery of Peter Quill’s true parentage in the outer reaches of the galaxy.

Nyle: I slept on the first Guardians of the Galaxy mainly because I am not the biggest Chris Pratt fan and also I am a bit annoyed at the amount of humor in the recent Marvel films. I understand the humor helps draw in a wider audience but for me, it often comes off cheesy and tends to take away from the experience. However, after finally catching it on streaming I was actually very impressed and enjoyed it. The humor landed just right especially the little that we got from Dave Bautista as Drax the Destroyer. Because of that, I am much more open to this sequel and plan on catching it in theaters. Hoping there is more Drax this time around.

Mike: The first Guardians of the Galaxy was a load of fun with Groot and Drax being the highlight.  The sequel looks equally as fun, with director/writer James Gunn returning along with all the Guardians plus some new characters such as Pom Klementieff as Mantis, the new member of the group, and Kurt Russell as the celestial cosmic being, Ego.  Yes, sign me up!

Alien: Covenant

Release Date: May 19, 2017

Synopsis: Ridley Scott returns to the universe he created, with ALIEN: COVENANT, a new chapter in his groundbreaking ALIEN franchise. The crew of the colony ship Covenant, bound for a remote planet on the far side of the galaxy, discovers what they think is an uncharted paradise, but is actually a dark, dangerous world. When they uncover a threat beyond their imagination, they must attempt a harrowing escape.

Nyle: I have somehow managed to avoid any trailers/spoilers for this film so far. Right now all I know is that Ridley Scott is again directing, Michael Fassbender returns and a Xenomorph will make an appearance in the film. That last one is enough for me. Although I wasn’t extremely impressed with Prometheus I do look forward to this sequel. If all goes well I expect that another film will follow.

Mike: Ridley Scott returns for the sequel to Prometheus and it looks fantastic!!  However, so did Prometheus and that did not go so well.  Prometheus looked gorgeous but some of the characters actions and the formation of the aliens left much to be desired.  I do look forward to this sequel, but I’m going in with much lower expectations.  Actually, I would be more excited if this was Blomkamp’s Alien 5.   

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales

Release Date: May 26, 2017

Synopsis: Thrust into an all-new adventure, a down-on-his-luck Capt. Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) feels the winds of ill-fortune blowing even more strongly when deadly ghost sailors led by his old nemesis, the evil Capt. Salazar (Javier Bardem), escape from the Devil’s Triangle. Jack’s only hope of survival lies in seeking out the legendary Trident of Poseidon, but to find it, he must forge an uneasy alliance with a brilliant and beautiful astronomer and a headstrong young man in the British navy.

Nyle: Alright. We get it. Johnny Depp’s Captain Jack Sparrow is quirky and witty. Enough already.

Mike: I actually jumped ship after the second Pirates film.   I’ll pass.

Wonder Woman

Release Date: June 2, 2017

Synopsis: Before she was Wonder Woman (Gal Gadot), she was Diana, princess of the Amazons, trained to be an unconquerable warrior. Raised on a sheltered island paradise, Diana meets an American pilot (Chris Pine) who tells her about the massive conflict that’s raging in the outside world. Convinced that she can stop the threat, Diana leaves her home for the first time. Fighting alongside men in a war to end all wars, she finally discovers her full powers and true destiny.

Nyle: The only positive thing that came out of Batman vs Superman was getting to see Gal Gadot go all out Wonder Woman and once a solo film was confirmed I was in. That being said however I do have some worries from the trailer. There are some scenes that seem questionable and you add the fact it is coming off the heels of the BvS failure. I will definitely have my guard up going into the theater but I have no plans of missing this one. 

Mike: Wonder Woman was the best part of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice and with that, her character has long deserved a stand alone film.  I’m very much looking forward to seeing how Patty Jenkins Wonder Woman pans out.  Gal Gadot performed better than I thought she would in BvS and I’m expecting her to shine even brighter here.  Now pop in her theme music from Hans Zimmer and get pumped!

The Mummy

Release Date: June 9, 2017

Synopsis: Thought safely entombed in a crypt deep beneath the desert, an ancient princess whose destiny was unjustly taken from her is awakened in the modern era, bringing with her malevolence grown over millennia and terrors that defy human comprehension.

Nyle: This in all honesty may be a decent film but the trailer is doing it zero justice. If it weren’t for the title and of course the commercial success of the previous adaptations I would have no clue what this film was about. The trailer is a jumble of quick cuts and vague dialogue making it difficult to extract anything from it. Tom Cruise still has some star power and his presence is the only thing really drawing me to watch it. More than likely the film will still see some success and even I may catch it on a day of boredom and just wanting to watch some mindless action and storytelling. 

Mike: The Mummy is intended to be the first installment in the Universal Monsters shared universe, however, I’m really not sure what to think about this one.  Tom Cruise stars as Nick Morton, along with Sofia Boutella (Kingsman: The Secret Service) as the Mummy.  Alex Kurtzman directs, and he last directed People Like Us, which I did not see. This will be one I will wait to hear word of mouth on, but judging from the trailer, I’m really not expecting much.  

Transformers: The Last Knight

Release Date: June 23, 2017

Synopsis: Humans are at war with the Transformers, and Optimus Prime is gone. The key to saving the future lies buried in the secrets of the past and the hidden history of Transformers on Earth. Now, it’s up to the unlikely alliance of Cade Yeager (Mark Wahlberg), Bumblebee, an English lord (Anthony Hopkins) and an Oxford professor (Laura Haddock) to save the world.

Nyle: This series reminds me of The Fast and the Furious franchise; I am very surprised whenever I learn that a new film is being released and even more surprised to learn that the film pulled in high box office numbers. I am not certain who is actually watching these films but for whatever reason they keep getting made. Personally, I tuned out the moment Isabel Lucas turned into the T-1000 back in 2009’s Revenge of the Fallen. And have no plans to catch back up. 

Mike: Next.

Spider-Man: Homecoming

Release Date: July 5, 2017

Synopsis: Thrilled by his experience with the Avengers, young Peter Parker (Tom Holland) returns home to live with his Aunt May. Under the watchful eye of mentor Tony Stark, Parker starts to embrace his newfound identity as Spider-Man. He also tries to return to his normal daily routine — distracted by thoughts of proving himself to be more than just a friendly neighborhood superhero. Peter must soon put his powers to the test when the evil Vulture emerges to threaten everything that he holds dear.

Nyle:  Unfortunately I am all Peter Parker’d out. Don’t get me wrong, this new reboot looks promising and even has some Iron Man to give it some push. Tom Holland was great in Captain America: Civil War and I am sure Michael Keaton will give a brilliant performance as The Vulture. In fact if asked I would actually recommend others go watch it but for me I just don’t have the energy to start over. The one thing making me reconsider is the chance to catch the beautiful Marisa Tomei on screen again. I wish the new film all the luck but I will likely pass on the theater experience and save it for a couch viewing.

Mike: The Amazing Spider-Man which starred Andrew Garfield was short lived, but I felt Sony rushed those in after cutting ties with Sam Raimi.  Now, after being introduced in Captain America: Civil War, this new start of the Spider-Man films makes sense.  In Captain America: Civil War, Tom Holland and the writers/directors nailed the character.  In that brief amount of film time, we saw the true Spider-Man come to life and it was brilliant!  So I’m excited about this film and hoping that carries over into Spider-Man: Homecoming.  We shall see.

War of the Planet of the Apes

Release Date: July 14, 2017

Synopsis: Caesar (Andy Serkis) and his apes are forced into a deadly conflict with an army of humans led by a ruthless colonel (Woody Harrelson). After the apes suffer unimaginable losses, Caesar wrestles with his darker instincts and begins his own mythic quest to avenge his kind. As the journey finally brings them face to face, Caesar and the colonel are pitted against each other in an epic battle that will determine the fate of both of their species and the future of the planet.

Nyle:  So first off I have not seen any of the films from the updated franchise, the last I saw was the 2001 film with Mark Wahlberg which was just an OK film. I have seen numerous trailers for the others since then and they simply just didn’t grab my attention and that includes the latest set to release this summer. A lot of that has to do with the exhausting amount of CGI that is used, which honestly is understandable considering the premise but it can be very distracting. I am sure they are all decent films and this one will likely follow suit but I have no plans to catch this in the theaters or via streaming. 

Mike: Director Matt Reeves and screenwriter Mark Bomback both worked on Dawn of the Planet of the Apes and they are back with the third installment of the Apes series.  This is great news being that Dawn of the Planet of the Apes received critical acclaim upon release and I really don’t see that changing.   Everything looks great here and should be a lot of fun. 

Dunkirk

Release Date: July 21, 2017

Synopsis: In May 1940, Germany advanced into France, trapping Allied troops on the beaches of Dunkirk. Under air and ground cover from British and French forces, troops were slowly and methodically evacuated from the beach using every serviceable naval and civilian vessel that could be found. At the end of this heroic mission, 330,000 French, British, Belgian and Dutch soldiers were safely evacuated.

Nyle: I have seen one trailer for this film and it looked amazing but a cool trailer does not necessarily mean a good movie. Aside from the trailer I haven’t heard or seen much else. It has some star power with Tom Hardy coming off a brilliant performance in The Revenant. Add Christopher Nolan at the helm with a large budget to work with and you have a film with high expectations. This is probably the movie I am most looking forward to this year. 

Mike:  Christopher Nolan.  What else can I really say?  The man’s track record is fantastic and he is going a route which I did not expect him to take.  The trailer is intense and I look forward to seeing how he handles a war film.  I anticipate plenty of intense drama and action here.   Oh, and did I mention Hans Zimmer does the score?  Sign me up!  

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets

Release Date: July 21, 2017

Synopsis: In the 28th century, special operatives Valerian (Dane DeHaan) and Laureline work together to maintain order throughout the human territories. Under assignment from the minister of defense, the duo embarks on a mission to Alpha, an ever-expanding metropolis where diverse species gather to share knowledge and culture. When a dark force threatens the peaceful city, Valerian and Laureline must race against time to identify the menace that also jeopardizes the future of the universe.

Nyle: Part of me feels a little guilty over my lack of enthusiasm for Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets. I enjoyed some of Luc Besson’s previous work and visually the trailer looks fantastic. I think my biggest concern is that the film centers around a young cast saving the universe [An assumption] which has me worried that this is targeted for a younger demographic. This one is a coin toss for me. I do not plan on catching it at theaters but once it hits streaming I will definitely give it watch.

Mike:  Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets is based on the French science fiction comic book series Valerian and Laureline, and I really know nothing about it.  The only real excitement for me here is that Luc Besson is director, writer, and producer, with the latest film with him tackling all roles being the science fiction film, Lucy.  The trailer is colorful and flashy, similar to Luc Besson’s other Science Fiction film, The Fifth Element, but I will be surprised if this can outdo the entertainment value of that film.   Hopefully, I will be surprised.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

