Michael Dean’s Top Ten Horror Films

Top Ten Horror Banner

Creating a Top Ten Horror list was something I have wanted to do for years.  I always had an idea of what it would be but never seriously sat down to put it together.  It looked to be quite a bit of work as a lot of films I would have to watch again since it had been years since I’d seen them and of course there were plenty I needed to catch up on.  So I started watching films in early September, and 40 films later, I arrived at my final ten.  Just as I do with my top tens per year, the films chosen are weighted objectively and subjectively with some leaning more so one way or the other.

I was very surprised to find that some of the films I really enjoyed years ago, did not make the cut.  Evil Dead 2, for example, is one enjoyed watching again recently, and still love it, but not as much as in my youth.  On the flip side, there are some which I watched years ago, that I liked, but upon watching again recently, I ended up loving even more.  It is surprises like this which is what makes creating a list so thrilling.  The other great thing about creating the list is that, when looking at my final results, it made me realize what kind of horror films I truly love.  Thinking about it now, as a kid, I was really into the monster films that came on the television most of the time.  There was a show hosted by Bob Wilkins called Creature Features which I always looked forward to and would sit in wide-eyed wonder at all the different monster flicks they would show. Universal Monsters, creatures from the films created by Roy Habenhausen, the B movie monster films, and many others were just a joy to watch.  It was always thrilling to see the different types of monsters that would appear each time I watched and how people would learn about and fight these creatures of unknown origin.  So its interesting for me now to look at my horror list and realize what kind of horror films I truly love.  It was very unexpected but feels so right.

So without further ado, here are my Top Ten Horror Films.

Honorable Mentions:

Evil Dead 2, Nosferatu, The Birds, Nosferatu the Vampyre, Halloween, REC, Hereditary, The Conjuring

 

The Top Ten Horror Films

10. Tremors

Tremors

Yes, Tremors is in my Top Ten Horror films.  This modern day B-Movie monster flick is the horror film which I’ve seen the most times in a theater because it was so much fun.  The characters are fantastic, the story is fun with plenty of setups and payoffs, there are some scares and intense moments, and the practical effects are wonderful.  It had been about 15 years before I recently rewatched the film and I was a bit worried about how well Tremors would hold up.  Needless to say, it held up very well!  The practical effects of the creatures did not disappoint.  Director Ron Underwood and crew used a mixture of animatronics, miniatures, and hand puppets to make these underground monsters come to life on screen.  The film follows a Jaws formula where we don’t see much of the monster except for some sneak peeks until the big reveal.  However, even after the reveal, the crew continues to use the hidden factor through the use of smoke, erupting dirt, and other clever tricks.  It’s creative and keeps the audience engaged and entertained with the different things going on.  Where Tremors really shines is its characters of Val and Earl, played by Kevin Bacon and Fred Ward.  Right from the start of the film, with the very word of “Stampede!” we know these two characters have a special relationship.  Bacon and Ward’s chemistry is truly amazing as they bounce off one another so well.  Tremors influence obviously comes from the 50’s B movie horror films like Them! but Tremors outdoes them all with its ability to blend the horror, action, and fun so well in a story that is filled with great characters who must come up with clever ways to get out of a situation.  I’m ecstatic that the film managed to hold up so well and every revisit is like getting together with some old friends.  Tremors remains one of my top favorite films and, though the fun element keeps it from being higher in my horror list, there was no way it was going to miss being included in my top ten horror films.

9. The Blob (1988)

The-Blob-1988-

The Thing is widely regarded as one of the best movie remakes of all time, however, The Blob from 1988 is a remake which should not be ignored.  Watching it in the theater thirty years ago, I found much to love about this pink, gooey monster flick and it instantly became one of my favorite horror films.  The thought of a big blob of acidic slime devouring civilians in a small town was fascinating to me!  Upon recently revisiting the film for its 30 year anniversary I found many of the things I loved about The Blob held up wonderfully.  It’s a very well executed film that is a blast to watch with incredible visual effects that were practical and sometimes disturbing.  There are victims whose flesh is shown searing away from their faces or their limbs are stretched off from their bodies.  Some of these effects are very comparable to those in The Thing (1982) in how well they look.  The script is actually very clever, and nobody is safe, which keeps people entertained from beginning to end.   The 1958 version of The Blob is mostly known for the iconic movie theater scene, which Chuck Russell and Frank Darabont included with a much more graphic and terrifying result.  The other main standout is Shawnee Smith as Meg, a good-hearted cheerleader, who is close with her family, and whom we later find is also bold and willing to stand and fight against the Blob.  I remember being pumped in the theater in how much her characters’ heart and courage took over.  This remake is far superior to the original film and should be considered the definitive version of The Blob.  It sits alongside The Thing and The Fly as one of the three great horror remakes from the 80’s and certainly deserves to be recognized as a horror classic. (Full Review on Jumpcut Online)

8. Train to Busan

TRAIN-TO-BUSAN.jpg

In 2016, there was a buzz about a new zombie film from Korea, titled Train to Busan, which was breaking all kinds of box office records.  When I found Train to Busan finally released in San Francisco, a buddy and I drove 3 1/2 hours in traffic to catch itObviously, it was more than worth the trip as Train to Busan has become my favorite of the zombie genre.  Train to Busan is an intense action horror that literally kept me on the edge of my seat.  Director Yeon Sang-ho has a fantastic way of showing the transformation of a person bitten to that of the infected.  Once turned, the victim quickly rises up in an intense, jerking, and twisting manner, and then dash after their prey.  The film has so many characters that the audience cares about due to the depth the writers have added to each one, which makes it more terrifying when these characters come in contact with the infected or with those people that are looking out for only themselves.  With that, the crew does a wonderful job of delivering its message of caring or looking out for others and I really love the film for it.  I just watched the film for the third time and my eyes were still glued to the screen from its intensity and I have to say, Train to Busan is the only horror film to make my eyes misty every single time I watch.  Every. Single. Time!  Train to Busan and its emotional tale grabbed my heart and took me for an intense ride of terror I just can’t shake and it only gets better upon every viewing.  This is the reason why it sits in my top ten horror films.

7. Night of the Living Dead (1968)

Night of the Living Dead

Night of the Living Dead from 1968 is a film that is still eerily terrifying to this day.  It was a low budget production, filmed in black and white with some crackling in the picture.  This actually turned out to be an asset to the film as it gives the film an old documentary look, thus making the story and its ghouls appear more spooky and chilling.  The film was released to people of all ages back in the day, due to the MPAA film rating not being in place at the time.  It’s hard to imagine a film like this was exposed to children of such a young age and can’t even imagine the terror they must have felt in the theater as this was not an uplifting film with bits of laughter and glorious moments, this was a film of doom.  This film of seven people trapped in a house surrounded by the undead has stuck with me over the years.  I enjoy their banter and some of their clashing personalities.  Duane Jones as Ben is truly outstanding as the everyday man trying to survive this monstrosity of terror that’s developed before him as well as struggling to work with his own kind to band together against the undead.  George Romero’s Night of the Living Dead sits in my top ten as it is a groundbreaking film that has influenced many other films to this day, as well as contains a strong and engaging story, ability to still provide terror and chills, and is a film that I enjoy going back to time and time again.

6. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974)

the-texas-chainsaw-massacre.jpg

Once that metal door slides shut, it’s all over.  The Texas Chainsaw Massacre will terrify you and leave you gasping for air by the time it is all said and done. Don’t blink as the killing comes quick and before you know it a long and very intense chase ensues leading to a horrific evening of terror.  The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is not as gory as the title sounds, which is to its benefit as the film is more to scare and disturb versus gross you out and boy does it succeed.  Surprisingly the terror is accompanied by a small bit of humor with some wonderful camerawork by Director Tobe Hooper and cinematography by Daniel Pearl.  There are incredible shots throughout the film and a couple worth mentioning are a hallway shot that is perfectly set up to strike fear before Leatherface abruptly appears and another shot of a girl walking towards the house with an angle emphasizing the dominating presence of doom before her.  Marilyn Burns is magnificent as one of the victims and her screams will make you cling to your seat. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is a film I had avoided for years when I was younger due to the name alone.  Watching the film now, I appreciate how well it was crafted with such a minimal budget and can almost feel the hard work that the crew and actors went through, especially with Marilyn Burns, to bring this horror film to the big screen. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is not as bloody as the name applies, but it is raw and grimy and definitely one of the most terrifying and intense films I have ever seen.

5. Alien

alien-1979

For years I had been an Aliens over Alien guy with no questions asked.  However it had been over a decade since last watching Alien so when I watched it again last year, I was in awe.  Alien is so well made and, except for the computer interfaces, it is absolutely timeless.  The film is steadily paced, and sets the mood in the beginning, to build suspense until the terror suddenly ignites on a dining table which remains one of the most horrifying scenes in cinema.  The sound in the film is so crisp, amplifying even the very drop of water which helps immerse the audience into the environment as if we are right there with the crew.  The Alien itself is iconic and just magnificent looking, there’s nothing else like it.  Not only is Alien legendary with its monster but also with its character of Ellen Ripley who is one of the most iconic film characters around. She is strong minded and very rational in her actions even in the bitter end. Watching Alien again this past week I found nothing has changed and I enjoyed the film even more.  With an iconic creature and character, amazing sound, and enough suspense, scares, and thrills, to make my heart stop, Alien is a masterpiece in sci-fi horror.  As far as the Aliens and Alien debate goes, I love them both, but I now give Alien the edge.

4. The Descent

TheDescent B

I recently watched The Descent after last seeing the film many years ago and this viewing hit me on a whole new level.  I had forgotten how well Neil Marshall delivered that feeling of claustrophobia along with the intense and ferocious terror from what the women find within the caves. The film is best watched in the dark to take full effect of how well Neil Marshall uses darkness and space to bring that feeling of claustrophobia and fear. It was quite a unique and great idea from Marshall to have an all female cast with characters that are strong, skilled, adventurers, and each one distinct from the other.  The female ensemble is so good and they clicked very well together. Natalie Mendoza and Shauna Macdonald are the standouts as Juno and Sarah who both suffer a loss early in the film and we see how this affects their relationship as they descend further into the cave. The two actresses do a fantastic job in their roles and there are a few important moments of the story that are told just through their eyes which I absolutely love. The story of Juno and Sarah sucks me in every time I watch as there is much to explore throughout the film and the outcome of their relationship sticks with me long after the credits roll.  The Descent is brilliant in the horror aspect as well as it comes in two parts, the first being claustrophobia during the spelunking sequences and then a new fear intensifies when the women find they are not alone in the caves.  Some moments of the women’s fight to stay alive becomes physically primal and fierce and the creatures they encounter are some of the best movie monsters on screen.  The Descent pays homage to films such as Alien, The Thing, and The Shining, but the film truly deserves to sit alongside them as one of the honorary films of horror.  With a great story exploring guilt, trust, and madness as well as the outstanding use of darkness, space, and sound, Neil Marshall’s The Descent is an intense modern day horror classic that has become one of my favorite films.

3. The Exorcist (1973)

Exorcist

The Exorcist is a film well known in the horror genre as one of the scariest films ever made, and it still is. The film about a young girl, Regan (Linda Blair), becoming possessed and leading to her mother to seek out a priest who must get approval from the church to perform an exorcism had left such an impact on me that I eventually read the book and dove into the films commentary to try and learn more about how the story came together. The story is brilliantly told and loved how William Peter Beatty took his time building the characters up to learn their backstory before coming together in response to the possession. The mother and daughter portion of the film is really strong especially watching the mother do all she can to save her little girl. The hospital scenes where doctors try to figure out what is wrong with Regan were interesting to see play out and also very intense. It’s a fantastic build up to an atheist mother whose last hope in saving her daughter rests in a priest who is unsure of his faith. As for Regans possession, it was so intense and that demonic growl coming from her was truly insane. The cast is just incredible with not a sore spot in sight and the makeup being that good for the time (and now) is still astounding to me.  This disturbing horror film tells a story of hope and faith and it is so well written and directed by William Peter Beatty and William Friedkin that it deserves all the praise it has received over the years.

2. The Thing (1982)

the-thing

The Thing by John Carpenter is truly an amazing film and I cannot believe how timeless this movie is.  The creature effects, in all its practical glory, are outstanding in that they’re unique and horrifyingly detailed.  The story about a team of arctic explorers who encounter a deadly alien organism is absolutely solid.  It is filled with plenty of suspense, not only from the creature itself but from the mystery surrounding the characters with the question of who to trust.  My favorite scene in the film is when the characters are going through a blood test while strapped to a chair.  It’s dramatically intense as we wait to find out who the alien is, and it is a bit humorous as well.  What adds to the film is the score by Ennio Morricone who brilliantly captures the cold and isolation of the story in his music.  There is a portion that has a subtle “bum bum” that is quite chilling and fits the film perfectly.  I enjoy every moment of The Thing and it is nearly impossible for me to find any kind of negative to the film, even Kurt Russell gives his finest performance.  After watching it another time just before writing this article, I found it is still very suspenseful and entertaining as the mystery keeps me looking for new things.  John Carpenter’s The Thing is a masterpiece in sci-fi horror and is about as perfect of a film as one can get.

1. JAWS

Jaws

The film about a monstrous shark terrorizing people at Amity Island is my number one horror film.  Jaws terrified me when I was younger and so much so that I can never go in the ocean water without worrying about a huge shark pulling me under. The picture that you see above of the shark slowly gliding under the surface of the water towards its prey with its jaws wide open is the scene that terrifies me the most.  I literally got chills just posting the image.  So sorry non-believers, but Jaws is a horror film, and I find it to be the best horror film of all.  This film evokes fear; fear of going into the water and fear of sharks.  Directed by Stephen Spielberg, Jaws is remarkable in that it is filled with adventure, brilliant in its storytelling and has three strong and wonderful characters in Brody, Hooper, and Quint (Roy Schneider, Richard Dreyfus, and Robert Shaw). The trio is so fun to be with and watching them bounce off one another is partly what makes the third act so much fun. Upon recently watching the film again, I am still amazed at how thrilling and terrifying this move is. Jaws has one of the best openings in cinema that is visually glorious with shimmers of light over the open water as a girl takes a nighttime swim and becomes a victim of the monstrous shark. In terrifying fashion, she is tugged about and dragged around before being pulled under. Then there is John Williams and the brilliant score he composed. There are moments on the beach and on the Orca ship where Williams’ score just pops and then there are the suspenseful moments with those famous two notes that everyone has come to know. This and some beautiful camerawork by Steven Spielberg makes this film not only a magnificent horror film about a shark, but it is also a masterpiece in filmmaking. Jaws has not aged at all and remains in my top five overall films and is hands down my number one horror film of all time.

Thanks for reading my Top Ten Horror Films. Be sure to chime in with your top ten in the comments section.

Feel free to follow me on Twitter and Letterboxd for further rankings, ratings, and film discussions.

Leave a comment